How to know what has been seen on the computer

  • Creating user accounts makes it easy to customize the family PC.
  • Blocking inappropriate websites protects children online.
  • Browsing history allows you to monitor computer usage.
  • Browsing in private mode avoids leaving traces on your computer.

microsoft-edge

Thanks to the drop in PC prices in recent years, it's likely that we have more than one computer at home, a computer that the whole family uses interchangeably. In these cases, it's always best to create different user accounts so that each person can install their own applications, personalize the background, create shortcuts to the applications they use most frequently, and so on.

If you have young children at home, you'll most likely need to be with them when they use the computer to browse the internet to make sure they don't visit any websites inappropriate for their age . If you can't always be with them, or if they start to become less dependent on you, you can block access to unsuitable websites through the router. While you can also use third-party applications, it's best to always do it through the router.

If we don't have the necessary skills but are starting to give our young child more confidence and freedom, we can leave them in front of the computer without worry. Once they've finished, we can check which pages they've visited so we always know what content they've viewed while we were gone. To do this, we simply need to go to our browser's browsing history. All browsers save a browsing history that allows us to quickly remember the websites we've visited so that when we start typing a web address, it's automatically filled in.

But that's not its only function, since, as I mentioned, it also allows us to know at all times what has been viewed on our computer while we weren't present. If we don't want to leave any trace of the websites we visit while browsing, but we don't want to delete the entire history once we've finished, the best thing to do is to use private browsing. This type of browsing will not leave any trace on our computer. All browsers have this option, which we can access through the menus, just like the browsing history.


Add as preferred source in Google